Product pictures that strike. A set that costed me 2€.

Helen Vechurko
3 min readJun 5, 2021

I challenged myself to create striking product pictures of an inexpensive product on a minimal budget. Look what I got and follow how I achieved this result.

photo: Helen Vechurko

It’s not evident from the picture if the product is expensive or cheap. However, quality photography adds value. From my 15 years in visual production, I’ve learned that to look great on a picture product doesn’t need to be pricey. I don’t deny that it’s impossible to get something cheap, good and quality. In this case, the expensive component is my expertise which converts into my rate. That’s what I want to share with you.

The starting point. Products and props.

I got the cheapest soap bars from the supermarket (0,35 eur each). I already have paper backdrops in a variety of colors from previous projects. I think one 50x70 cm piece didn’t cost more, than 1 euro.

On my way home from the supermarket, I cut some wildflowers. Zero investments.

The concept.

Shot 1 For the first set I decided to capture the summer mood. The magic of visuals is that you can create any ambiance with the help of lighting and elements in the shot. My idea was to present a kind of aromatic herbal soap you would enjoy using on a hot day.

Want to read this story later? Save

--

--